The Annual General Meeting of Brisbane Racing Club Limited

The AGM for 2023 was held on 18th October at 9:00am at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

Members resolved to approve the Clubs Annual Report for 2023, copies of which are made available to all Members on the BRC website.

The Director Election results were announced with the successful candidates being -

  • Mr Neville Bell
  • Mr Richard Morrison; and
  • Mr Terry Svenson

This year’s Election had a participation rate of 27% amongst Members. The Club would like to thank all Members who participated in the Voting.

Finally, the Members present unanimously passed two special resolutions to amend the Clubs Constitution as follows:-

Firstly, for the Financial Year to be defined in the Constitution:-

Clause 1.1 Definitions will now be updated to state that the “Financial Year begins on the 1st of July and ends on the 30th of June of the subsequent year”.

Secondly, that in respect to future Director Elections, that additional wording be added to Clause 12.7 of the Constitution that would facilitate both postal and electronic voting (or a combination thereof) in future years.

For the avoidance of doubt that Clause would now read:-

12.7       All Directors shall be elected by a vote of the members entitled to vote, in accordance with the election procedure by-law. The election results shall be declared at the Annual General Meeting. If a ballot is required this may be conducted by a postal vote and / or an electronic vote as determined by the Board.

A special thankyou to all the Members present at this morning’s AGM. We appreciate there are many people who for a variety of reasons cannot be there in person, and hope to see all Members this Saturday and over the back end of the Spring Carnival.